3 Radiology Societies Come Together to Sponsor Women in Neuroradiology Leadership Award

The Foundation of the ASNR, the American College of Radiology (ACR), and the American Association for Women Radiologists (AAWR) will jointly sponsor a mid-career neuroradiologist’s participation in the ACR’s inaugural Radiology Leadership Institute session.

Why target an award specifically to women?

As the ASNR celebrates its 50th Anniversary in April, it will swear in the 4th women president in its long, venerable history.  While the number of women entering medical schools is approaching 50% nationally, women continue to be underrepresented in a number of medical specialties, including diagnostic radiology and particularly in neuroradiology.  In fact, the gender gap of men more frequently choosing Radiology as their specialty of choice than women grew substantially over the period 1990 to 2003 (i.e., from less than 1.4-to-1 in 1990 to more than 2-to-1 by 2003).

Women are also underrepresented in all senior ranks of leadership in organized medicine.  The new ASNR/ACR/AAWR award will offer a unique opportunity for the mid-career women with demonstrated experience and promise for leadership in Neuroradiology and/or Radiology overall.  The ACR Radiology Leadership Institute’s premier leadership educational event, held in conjunction with Northwestern’s Kellogg School of Management, will provide the awardee with additional skills and valuable insights.

A review committee comprised of members of all 3 organizations will choose the 2012 awardee from among a large slate of nominations, and the results will be announced at the NYC meeting.


EM Lambert, ES Holmboe. The Relationship between Specialty Choice and Gender of U.S. Medical Students, 1990-2003. Acad Med 2005;80(9):797-802.

VK Potterton, S RuanJH Sunshine, et al.  Why don’t female medical students choose diagnostic radiology? A review of the current literature. J Am Coll Radiol 2004;1(8):583-590.

3 Radiology Societies Come Together to Sponsor Women in Neuroradiology Leadership Award